Final Fantasy XIV: The Armoury System

In Final Fantasy XIV, classes can change at any time. Each class is defined by equipped items. These may be bought with FFXIV Gil or given as quest rewards. To switch jobs in-game, one must be in possession of a weapon of that class type.

The Four Major Disciplines:

1. Discipline of War (Warriors) – The discipline of war involves the mastery of weapons. Disciples of war include:

  • Gladiators (blades/swords)
  • Archers (bows/crossbows
  • Lancers (lances)
  • Marauders (greataxes)
  • Pugilists (hand-to-hand)

2. Discipline of Magic (Magus) – The discipline of magic involves the usage of spells to support or protect or to hinder and harm. Disciples of magic include:

  • Conjurer (elemental sorcery)
  • Thaumaturge (spells of destruction)

3. Discipline of Land (Gatherer) – The discipline of land is not for combat and trains its members to develop uncanny abilities to gather resources and materials. Each type of gathering profession will give different materials but will always drop a crystal shard. Disciples of land include:

  • Botanist (cotton/fiber and different crystals)
  • Fisher (fish and water shards)
  • Miner (ores and earth/lightning crystals)

4. Discipline of Hand (Crafter) – The discipline of hand is not meant for combat as well and involves synthesis and craftsmanship. Disciples of hand include:

  • Alchemist
  • Armorer
  • Blacksmith
  • Carpenter
  • Culinarian
  • Goldsmith
  • Tanner
  • Weaver

** Based on the studies of gathering and crafting professions in some beta servers, some of the items have a range of difficulty in procuring the items. Crafting does not need recipe books; items placed in the crafting window will show the item recipe but placing too many items will not display any recipes.

Instant Checkout
contact us
Customer Support is
always available!
Click here.